Ten Days Away

We’re getting closer and I’m looking forward to it. I enjoy teaching, but sharing is better.

Self-Publishing is changing so rapidly that the only way to be an up-to-date expert is to publish a book every month through twelve different publishers. I suspect there are a few problems with that scenario. Some people translate the Japanese word sensei as teacher, but I prefer the translation of sensei as “one who has gone before.”

My teaching style is to share where I’ve gone, what I’ve learned, and where I think things are going. I first self-published in 2002 with Just Keep Pedaling after trying the traditional route.

A Corner-to-Corner Bike Ride Across America

Many are surprised to learn that e-books existed back then, way before kindle, nook, and iPad. Print-on-demand titles accounted for less than 15% of the books published in 2002. E-books barely registered. Now, print-on-demand produces more titles than traditional publishing and e-books are surprising everyone.

Writing and producing about a book a year has also produced a bookshelf of examples, and the changes continue. My next book is probably the one about walking across Scotland – One man’s outer search for an evening’s Guinness and his inner search for himself. Or something like that. You’re probably familiar with working titles. An e-book is an obvious choice for me, and yet there are some intriguing possibilities that extend the e-book into new formats. Stay tuned. Even I don’t know exactly what will be available when it is time to upload and publish.

A search for each evening’s Guinness and every day’s revelation.

The class changes every time I teach it because the industry continues to change. Such constant change is a reason why some have taken it more than once, or come back for consultations. I know that watching the industry experience a revolution is not boring.

Sign up. Get comfortable. Let us peel back the layers and get to the solid core of what self-publishing has become and how it can work for you.

About Tom Trimbath

consultant / entrepreneur / writer / photographer / speaker / aerospace engineer / semi-semi-retired More info at: http://trimbathcreative.wordpress.com/about/ and at my amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B0035XVXAA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

